Poetry – Poet Tree – My Cherry Tree.

I loved my old cherry tree – fond memories of a pink leviathan.

Opher's World

DSC_0204

My Cherry Tree

Our garden was shaded by a huge cherry tree. It was there when we bought the house and has lived for decades. When we were buying the house there was a hammock between that cherry tree and an old apple tree. It looked idyllic. I could just imagine lying in it on warm summer days, reading and sipping a beer. I never did. The garden was mainly a place I had to mow trim and work in. I never found the time to laze. The kids loved that hammock though; they used it as a swing.

But I loved that tree. Every spring it would burst into life with fresh green leaves that were like a joyous rebirth. In early summer it was festooned with blossom so that it was a huge great pink candy-floss. In autumn it was covered in cherries. The birds feasted on them…

View original post 344 more words

I'd like to hear from you...

