Anecdote – Sex in the classroom

Real!!

Opher's World

51QC-PE-PZL__AA160_51MSgOL3XOL__SX331_BO1,204,203,200_  51Mlzh1UqoL__AA160_  BookCoverImage61qDTq70unL__AA160_

Sex in the classroom

It did not take me long to discover that there were major gaps in the boys understanding of sex. This was 1976 and well before the advent of the internet (which creates an entirely different set of ignorances). They were much less liberal times and the boys’ knowledge was sketchy.

I did not think anything of it. When we came to human reproduction I slotted in my own sections on sexually transmitted diseases and contraception and also did a couple of far-ranging discussions. They went down well and there was obviously a need.

I’d been doing this for a couple of years when me Head of department found out.

‘Does the Head know you’re doing sex education?’ He asked.

‘I doubt it,’ I shrugged.

‘I think you’d better tell him,’ he suggested.

I thought that was a bit strange. Sex ed was an established…

View original post 803 more words

I'd like to hear from you...

