Photos – Magic Band – Leeds 2011

Another SUPERB gig!!!

Opher's World

Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band were my favourite band of all-time. As they disbanded back in 1981 I thought I would never get the chance to hear that brilliant music again. With the Captain indisposed (and then later dying) it looked like the end. But then John French, who was the musical director of the band, put together a band to commemorate the incredible music of Don Van Vliet.

I went to see the new incarnation without much hope for great things. They did have four original members in Denny Walley, Rockette Morton Gary Lucas and John French (Drumbo) but I was still not allowing my hopes to get too strong. Who else could sing like Beefheart? How wrong I was. John French did an admirable job on vocals and the band were so hot they burnt a hole in the stage. True they did not look quite as…

View original post 46 more words

I'd like to hear from you...

