Elmore James – opher’s World pays tribute to a genius.

My baptism into the world of Blues!

Opher's World

elmore james

After my friend Dick Brunning had introduced me to the Blues through the wonders of Lightnin’ Hopkins. John Lee Hooker, Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf I made my own discovery. Back then Blues records were like gold-dust. You had to hunt for them in the right places. You stumbled across one and played it to death. It was so special. Thus it was with Elmore James. I miraculously found his album sixteen greatest hits. From the moment I put in on my old Dansette and the first glorious notes of Dust My Broom seared out through those tinny speakers I was hooked. He was mine. I had discovered him and not only that, he was the best.

Nobody before or since has made a guitar sound quite like that. I later discovered that he used to work in an electrical shop and created his own original amps and guitar pick-ups…

View original post 765 more words

7 thoughts on “Elmore James – opher’s World pays tribute to a genius.

  1. Nice tribute – he brought so much excitement to the genre – Jeremy Spencer of Fleetwood Mac based his whole act round Elmore, though he also did a passable Elvis. Talking of slide, I also like JB Hutto and his nephew Lil Ed of the Blues Imperials …

I'd like to hear from you...

