Number 3 on my all-time best Rock Albums – 537 Essential Rock Albums – Captain Beefheart – Lick My Decals Off

Superb!!

Opher's World

537-essential-rock-albums-cover

Well weighing in at number 3 on my all-time 537 essential Rock Albums is Captain Beefheart. Probably the best band that ever lived. Awesome

3. Captain Beefheart – Lick my Decals Off Baby 

Now I had immense trouble sorting out which Captain Beefheart album was the best. There were at least four contenders and ‘Trout Mask Replica’ is awesome but for me ‘Lick my Decals off Baby’ is just that bit better.

Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) is the most original and accomplished of Rock performers. His voice is amazing, the vocal range is stupendous, the lyrics are poetry to music and totally unique and the music is from another planet. ‘Smithsonian Institute Blues’ sums up where humanity is going to be – we’re heading to be fossils. The sad thing is that we’re devising our own demise and taking a huge number of species with us! ‘Woe-is-uh-me-bop’ says…

View original post 202 more words

4 thoughts on “Number 3 on my all-time best Rock Albums – 537 Essential Rock Albums – Captain Beefheart – Lick My Decals Off

  1. I agree it pips Trout Mask but the two are a wonderful complement to one another … for me, they embody the joyous freedom and experimentalism of the times. I thought that was how it would be from then on … hmm!

    • I totally agree. They could easily be put together in one package. What a shame those times didn’t last. Up to us to keep the spirit alive I think Dave!

      • The post-war generation created its own playground, I think, a place to rebel and explore liberty. Perhaps the post-crash generations will do the same but learn from us how to make it last! Something like that …

      • I hope so Dave though there are not many signs of it yet. They seem a very hedonistic, fashion and style, celebrity-ridden, shallow generation, with a minority of concerned, switched-on individuals. That nucleus of turned-on kids needs to set the pace. I fear that the establishment have taken over rebellion and turned it into an economic racket.

I'd like to hear from you...

