Photography – Swamp Blues – Lazy Lester in London

That old Swamp Blues really gets the blood chugging!

Opher's World

Swamp Blues has always been a favourite of mine. I fell in love with an album called Swamp Blues in 1965. The names alone – Slim Harpo, Lazy Lester, Lightnin Slim, Lonesome Sundown and Whispering Smith seemed to say it all. They were recordings from the fabulous Excello Label produced by JD Jay Miller in Louisiana.

They were favourites of the Sixties Beat groups too – the Kinks, Stones and Yardbirds did their share.

I never got to see any of them perform. Most are dead now. But then Lazy Lester had a gig in London in 2012 and I took my younger son to see a legend)

I was fortunate enough not only to see a great concert but to crash a photo session and have a chat with the man himself. He was a bit cantankerous but he let me in and that is great. The man’s a…

View original post 51 more words

I'd like to hear from you...

