Education – A Passion for Education – The Story of a Headteacher

My book on education. The candid views and story of a successful Headteacher

Opher's World

http://www.amazon.co.uk/passion-Education-story-Headteacher/dp/1502984687/ref=sr_1_9?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1434277705&sr=1-9&keywords=opher+Goodwin

I taught in the secondary school system in a comprehensive boys’ school for thirty six years. My subjects were Biology, PSHE, Sex Education, Drug Education, Science and Rock Music (yes I got it into the curriculum).

I did twelve years as a Deputy Head and five as a Headteacher. We achieved three consecutive ‘Outstanding’ Ofsted inspections and we did it my way – without regard to the government initiatives – with child centred education, mixed ability teaching, a rich curriculum, Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning and huge dollops of Restorative Practice. Every one of my students was equally important and they were all stars. Their self-esteem was paramount. The results flowed out the other end.

The book tells the story of my education and my philosophy. It’s a philosophy of success.

Here’s a review:-

Format:…

View original post 185 more words

I'd like to hear from you...

