Pakistani Airline Responds To Deadly Crash By Sacrificing Goat on Airport Tarmac

I think I’ll stick with British Airways.

JONATHAN TURLEY

3b846c8100000578-4047924-image-m-33_1482158625056Faced with widespread safety concerns, most airlines order shake downs, inspections, and enhanced monitoring. Pakistan International Airlines however had an additional safety measure: the sacrifice of a goat to ward off bad luck. The pictures on social media show smiling airline officials as they practice the barbaric superstition. It appears that some airlines have carry on policies while others have carrion policies.

View original post 102 more words

37 thoughts on “Pakistani Airline Responds To Deadly Crash By Sacrificing Goat on Airport Tarmac

  1. I thought you were all about embracing other cultures etc?
    This is normal practice throughout the Muslim world and nothing particularly that of only found in Pakistan.
    Our building squads did this for every new building they completed, too, and a whole variety of other celebrations.

    • There are some aspects of cultures I embrace and some I abhor. Slaughtering goats on runways is superstitious twaddle. Islam has a lot of stupid practices – like FGM. It’s a very primitive religion in my book.

      • It’s not twaddle to them and in real terms has the very same significance as those whom worshiped the Sun gods and also slaughtered animals as an expression of gratitude – as per your post yesterday.
        FGM is not so widely practiced today and great in-roads to reduction have been made.
        It’s also not only just an Islamic practice, but also found in many different African and Caribbean cultures.

        Were you a Hindu, at your coming of age ceremony, you’d be getting your front teeth filed down into a straight line with a carpenters file. No anesthetic either!

      • Well worshipping the sun was just as much of a superstitious bunch of nonsense as sacrificing goats. But that misses the point of my solstice posts – not worshipping (all those religions rightly died out) so much as celebrating a solstice – an excuse for a celebration. Obviously all the irony and points went over your head.

      • Far too much FGM still goes on (one case is too much) and, like most Islamic practices has its roots in pre-Islamic culture – like misogynistic burqas.
        I’m glad I am not a Hindu or anything else. Fortunately my parents didn’t brainwash me in any religion or politics.

      • The day anything “goes over my head”, I’ll let you know.
        Meanwhile, reflect upon the stupidity of your comment.

      • For goodness sake Opher, men wear burquas! It’s very common place attire for living in sand deserts

      • I think the thing about burqas is that the men are not forced to wear them or flogged for not wearing them. The full kit with slits for eyes is nothing to do with deserts – its to do with the way women are treated.

      • Oh, I get it, like all the claims you made with your Patrick Fitzgerald post?
        Yup, I really missed the point on that one, didn’t I?
        I think you fell neck deep in shit with that one, eh?
        A comedy of errors.

      • Yes, that’s certainly one of the negative aspects of Islam.
        But my point was is that it is not just worn in Islamic countries. It is not exclusive to Islam.
        Neither is the punishment of women for not wearing it widespread throughout all Islamic countries.
        On the other hand many women want to wear it.
        I think this is a case where western sensibilities have no business interfering in their culture.

      • Is there some point to all this rudeness? Some reason perhaps that you have some intrinsic need to come across in this manner? Is there some perverse enjoyment or lift you get out of it? Because explanation and reason don’t work do they?
        I can’t see any benefit from a negative slinging match. All a bit juvenile.

      • But I never said that it is purely Islamic. It comes from pre-Islamic misogynistic cultures. The cultural pressure to conform to a form of dress that is not suited to modern city life is as bad as the physical coercion in my opinion.
        There are some women who want to wear it for a variety of reasons – makes them feel secure, piety…………. But so what? It is the ones who are forced that concerns me.

      • So who was rude here?
        I simply said this is normal and nothing out of the ordinary.
        Then you state it “was over my head”. That WAS rude.
        And a blatantly stupid remark, too.
        Then you screech off 180 degrees to FGM. What has that got to do with the sacrifice of a goat?
        You’ll say anything to try and give your failure of perception some backing. But best stick to the point in hand.

        Then you get all upset because I dared steer you in the right direction regards your misunderstanding of the origins of the burqa.
        I told you what I did in my life, hence, why I know. And the reason I know was tri-fold, a) some of my staff wore the damned things b) that’s what they told me c) they’d get paraded in all their various costumes for the benefit of rich wealthy tourists during ‘cultural experience’ evenings where it was all explained to them.
        I must have witnessed a couple of hundred of such evenings over the years.
        And if you have a problem with that then I really don’t know what to say to you.
        Sometimes Opher, trying to convey anything to you is nothing short of a fucking nightmare.

      • Perhaps then you should ask yourself why you use such language and take the stance you do. It is rude, unpleasant and unconstructive.
        If it wasn’t all put-downs, point scoring, and nit-picking in a nonstop barrage of negativity there might be some point to it. When it is put across in such an arrogant manner in a relentless tirade it elicits a response.
        It would be nice to have a dialogue, argument or debate that wasn’t full of personal abuse or self-inflated statements. You must surely see that? I’m not sure what you’re setting out to do? Are you simply trying to inflate your own ego? To deflate my ego? To undermine my blog? Or just to piss me off?
        So what’s it about?

      • So, reading all you said to me above, in no way were you undermining any of my comments – relevant comments, no less? It wasn’t you that firstly made claim it was “over my head”?
        Wasn’t that in itself some kind of insult?
        Or do you simply see yourself as lily white here?

        Personally, I think you’ve made an error of judgement here and perhaps you should take a gander in the mirror.

        I can’t be bothered with your Jekyll & Hyde mentality.

      • Andrew when I respond to the tone and language you use you become offended. Read the personal put-downs you come up with in your replies.

      • Listen, sprout all the greens you like, but despite the posts getting jumbled up, one thing stands clear – the time they were posted. And If you care to study that a little closer Opher, you will see as clear as the sun shines, that you for whatever reason I do not know – probably at your own frustration with me giving you a more accurate precise of the situation – decided to tell me that all your recent posts went over my head.
        Firslty, the posts did not, could not, nor will not.
        Secondly, you were mistaken to make claims that I had started something here. The time clock of posts proves this.
        Lastly, I’m fairly fluent on Islamic issues. I had them in my face every day for about 9 years.
        If you’d like to match wits with me on this subject, feel free to do so.

      • I’m sure you are very up on Islamic information having lived there. I have my views on it too and on religion in general. It is quite probable that we are not too far apart.

      • Islam doesn’t promote FGM neither It has any ruling to carry out FGM its more cultural.
        This plan rubbish that you are spreading out here, tells how much you know about Islam. The general practice to criticize something is one learns that content first in order to criticize. That is what common sense says that you truly need to know something before you criticize it.
        But here it is, the ignorance is on its peek as always. When it comes to Islam and other religions everybody is expert. Just Google stuff watch some TV and there you are holding masters degree in Islamic studies. Get a life mate get yourself educated before criticize others otherwise the rubbish you are throwing out of your house would be blown back in your face.

    • Actually you are quite wrong with your supposition that the woman’s version of the burqa has nothing to do with living in a desert environment. The reason it is styled as an all-in-one is to prevent the need to redress themselves were it blown loose by the wind, were it pulled whilst carrying children, bending over when preparing food, carrying out household chores etc.
      Basically, it is styled this way for very practical reasons.
      It’s pretty obvious you have limited knowledge here.

      • And how many times have I said that I wasn’t too happy about them bringing such cultural stuff here?
        I wish they would leave that aspect back in the desert where it belongs.

      • Likewise with most Eastern cities. It is an attire that may have started life with some practical purpose (though how garbing yourself in heavy black robes in intense heat is in any way practical) but has in my book simply become a tool for the oppression of women.

  2. Lordy! It’s so entertaining at times to see the two of you sparing. Generally I’m pretty much in agreement with where you’re coming from, but I see what Andrew is saying in his reply. If we are to understand each other in this world, if we are to have any chance at finding global peace, I think it’s essential for us to be able to walk in the other guy’s shoes, not just dismiss his perspective out of hand because it’s not OUR belief. To do so demeans and disrespects the individual and that is counter productive to seeking peace. And obviously I’m NOT referring to violence here because violence is NEVER acceptable in my book. But I thought Andrew’s point was well taken. 😀 (Calen is ducking under the nearest table! 😉 )

    • I find it interesting to explore the nub of my views and perspectives. I believe I am a liberal, tolerant person but there are times when my intolerant side comes to the fore.
      I enjoy travelling the world and seeing the customs, architecture, art, dress and behaviour of humans. Variety is the spice of life. Sometimes I find them quaint, sometimes ridiculous and sometimes inspirational. I would not want to impose my values or attitudes on everybody else. I find variety interesting. I am also quite happy for people to dress and live how they want in my country. I do not like conformity. However there are limits to my tolerance. I am not tolerant of cultures who profess violence to others. I do not tolerate cultures that practice cruelty to animals, destruction of nature, subjugation of others, indoctrination of children, misogynistic attitudes or racism. Hence my utter dislike and disgust at fundamentalist cults such as ISIS. I would oppose any of that globally.
      When it comes to superstitious practice I find it absurd but I would not oppose other people doing it. I have come across all manner of stupidities under the guise of superstitious practice – most harmless, some laughable and a few interesting. I have come to believe that people are weird. We put our faith in the ridiculous. Religion is man-made and about power. I also believe religion does more harm than good and people like comforting themselves rather than face the reality. We’d be better off facing reality.
      I put my faith in the UN Charter for Human Rights and would like to see it applied universally without stifling customs.
      What I find myself torn over are matters such as the wearing of burqas in Britain. If women are forced to wear them then that is clear cut – I’m against. But if they choose to wear them I am torn. Part of me feels that in a free country you should be able to wear what you choose. Part of me thinks that it is a medieval custom that has no place in a modern society. I find them alien and unsettling. Like any uniform it removes personality. I find it utterly repulsive to be faced with a human being who is completely hidden from sight. People communicate with the whole of their faces. It is unnatural to hide your features and I find it disturbing to see a group of Muslims walking along on a hot summer day with the men in cool, comfortable, modern T-shirts and shorts and the woman covered from head to foot. Why are the men not subject to the same restrictions? I stand for equality.
      When it comes to sacrificing goats on runways I find that in one sense it is laughable and in another disturbing in a number of ways. I am not a vegetarian and do not fundamentally have a problem with killing animals for food providing it is done humanely (and I believe there is a lot of work to be done in that respect) but sacrificing an animal out of superstitious belief seems wrong to me. It harks back to primitive times, serves no purpose, highlights the absurdity of religion and seems cruel.
      In this world things are rarely black and white. There are many dilemmas and grey areas to explore.
      In general I stand for tolerance and welcome enrichment from cultures. But then part of me feels that this is being exploited as a weakness. I want integration in this country and an acceptance from all that here there are freedoms of choice, democratic process, the right to offend, tolerance of others, the rule of British law, freedom of religion, freedom of sexuality, and equality for people in minorities, women and gays and atheists, and all colours.
      As part of that integration I would ban all religious schools, madrassas and Sunday schools and leave children free to make their own minds up. I would oppose all fundamentalism – Christian, Muslim, Hindu, Jew or Atheist.

      • Yeah, I get all that. I think I have a pretty idea of who Opher is. 😉 😉 I’m curious, though, as to whether (like when you were teaching) you found you were able to suspend your beliefs/opinions and put yourself in the shoes of someone with whom you didn’t identify, even felt put off by. I found that when teaching Bran and Stef about compassion that was an essential ability. I always told them if they can’t imagine themselves in someone else’s place then that person stops being a human being to them. I think that’s what war is all about. In military training they teach you to NOT see the enemy as a person — or so I’ve been told by a friend who was in Iraq. Does that make sense?

      • May I make a suggestion – one of an observation with regards sentence structure. Try to refrain from the abundant use of “I this, I that” etc and by doing so will enable a less narcissistic use of language expression and will immediately assist with the ability to restructure sentence structure into a more cohesive yet just as explanatory flow.
        The fundamental reason being we already know it is you expressing yourself and this needn’t be addressed 40 times in two paragraphs. It’s also a poor indication of command of the language’s vocabulary.
        He says with his English A-level.

      • Empathy was a key part of my education programme. Though actually putting yourself in someone else’s shoes is exceptionally hard. I think I see people as people even if I do not agree with them. But who can really put themselves in somebody els’s head?

  3. Actually, thinking about it, some women used to dress themselves all in black with skirts well below the knee and matching head scarf in the UK, following the death of their husband. This is what they wore every day from then on. The upper-class women also wore a black veil when they were out and about. It sort of died out (no pun intended) from the 1970’s when those brought up in the Edwardian era began to die off.
    This is still well practiced today in Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Greece and Cyprus as I have witnessed this in all these countries.
    So perhaps it’s really not quite as Eastern a tradition as suspected.

    • You are probably right. There are the same roots to all the three Abrahamic traditions and veils and covering the head were endemic in Europe. It is good that we have moved on though.

I'd like to hear from you...

