Mark E Smith Quotes

dsc_0082 dsc_0081

They don’t come much more strange than the Fall. I’ve heard Mark sing half a concert while lying on a sofa in the dressing room. I’ve seen him singing behind the speakers with just the back of his head visible. He accosts his musicians, detunes instruments and generally disrupts. He is largely indecipherable. Yet the Fall have produced a body of work that is incredible. There is a Beefheart influence and a pile of riffs. The words are interesting. I don’t know where it’s coming from but it sure connects.

The thing with me, I can’t talk about my work. I find it very difficult.

Every day is great for me. I dislike rose-coloured glasses.

A lot of musicians are really hard to deal with. They aren’t as smart as me..

I used to be psychic, but I drank my way out of it.

When I was 18, the vision was to make music that didn’t exist, because everything else was so unsatisfactory.

Blue cheese contains natural amphetamines. Why are students not informed about this?

If you’re going to play it out of tune, then play it out of tune properly.

If it’s me and your granny on bongos, then it’s the Fall.

6 thoughts on “Mark E Smith Quotes

  1. The Fall are almost commercial compared to Throbbing Gristle or The Birthday Party.
    But I think The Birthday Party may well put you in paralytic shock!

      • Having checked my lists the only album I now have is junkyard but I can’t remember the last time I played it. I wasn’t greatly enamoured and exchanged the other CDs years ago. I prefer Cave’s solo stuff but find him inconsistent.

  2. He hasn’t got any solo stuff as it’s all with the Bad Seeds or Grinderman – both incredibly versatile units, regardless of exactly who is there as some come and go. All of the albums since 1994’s ‘Let Love In’ have been particularly good with his most recent ‘Skeleton Tree’ probably the most harrowing given the subject matter. The band are absolutely outstanding live in concert and certainly one of the best top shows out there today by a country mile.

I'd like to hear from you...

