Jimi Hendrix Quotes – The guitarist had a mind as well as a creative imagination.

When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace.
But will that ever happen?
Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens.
Not a lot of listening going on!
You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.
Depends what sort of crazy.
Excuse me while I kiss the sky.
And the trees, rocks, stars and life.
Music doesn’t lie. If there is something to be changed in this world, then it can only happen through music.
There is something special about that beat that comes straight out of the dawn of time. Music is fundamental to the human condition.
I’m the one that has to die when it’s time for me to die, so let me live my life, the way I want to.
Freedom!!
Music is a safe kind of high.
And what a high!!
The story of life is quicker then the blink of an eye, the story of love is hello, goodbye.
No sooner have you got going than it’s coming to an end.
I’ve been imitated so well I’ve heard people copy my mistakes.
I used to live in a room full of mirrors; all I could see was me. I take my spirit and I crash my mirrors, now the whole world is here for me to see.
There’s a whole universe out there!
13 thoughts on “Jimi Hendrix Quotes – The guitarist had a mind as well as a creative imagination.

  1. It’s a great pity that most of his best recordings never saw a record of his during his life.
    The same can be said for most of the content of his posthumous releases where the best has been kept under wraps, basically hidden from the general public, appearing only on bootlegs or limited edition ‘only if you know about them’ special releases available only from the Hendrix estate website.
    Most people I meet who say they are ‘big fans’ have only ever heard or even know about the tip of the iceberg.

      • I have hundreds of hours of studio and live stuff. Jefferies released all those CDs that were not part of the estate. They seem to be unavailable now so were probably shut down. I can’t say any one of them stands out more than the others. I used to prefer the work with the Experience and not enjoy the Fillmore band but I have since reversed that. I think it is just great to hear him playing in Electric Ladyland, trying out ideas, jamming with people and lost in the music. To hear him talking and playing. All good to me. I can’t say there is any particular session that stands out above the others.
        So is there something that stands out for you?

      • Having compiled a dossier of over 800 pages of information of his studio and live recordings and another of similar size cross referencing all the albums any particular song and/or the multiple different versions of may be found, I have everything that he’s known to have recorded in a studio – that is in circulation. Although, it’s not quite hundreds of hours or anything near it. It probably seems like it due to the multiple duplication over somewhere in the region of 400 titles of bootleg studio material. So I think that’s why you think it’s that sort of scale. You will have many duplicates albeit in a multitude of different ‘album’ titles. It’s much of a shambles as Hendrix is one of the most bootlegged artists ever with including all the live concert bootlegs, somewhere in the region of 830 titles. It’s not for the uninitiated. A lot of the Jeffery’s stuff is actually still available via Amazon if one digs deep enough, not that he had that much and it continues to flit from label to label in attempts to evade shut-down by the Hendrix estate – who don’t actually own that stuff, but regard themselves as an authority over the rights to other people’s property. They win because they own the rights to the Jimi Hendrix name.

        Just for the record (excuse pun), he wasn’t able to make much use of Electric Ladyland as it wasn’t ready for him until 15th June 1970. He was also on a world tour that summer, so only managed to visit on 19 occasions, not all of which were particularly productive with much time spent on constant trial and error overdubs on about 8 key songs, with a few lesser bits and pieces as well.
        Most of his jamming stuff took place earlier at Record Plant.

        Ha, I see you’ve changed your tune with Band of Gypsys.
        Last time we talked of Hendrix you were in allegiance to Mitch Mitchell.

        It’s kind of difficult for me now to claim instant favourite this or that because I know it all so well like the back of my hand.
        I don’t listen to albums, but have re-recorded all the sessions in their correct chronological order of specific tracks, those that he worked on a multitude of times, such as Room Full Of Mirrors, Easy Rider, Midnight Lightning.
        But I would like to see an official release of all the TTG sessions which would make for an excellent album.

      • I love the excitement of the Experience. It was what I first heard and it still is amazing. Mitch was integral. I think he lost a bit of that rawness without Mitch but his guitar playing is mesmerising for me. That is what I get into. Not many guitarists capture that magic. The Band of Gypsies were a different kind of thing. When I’m in the mood it gets through to me as much. It’s hard to say. You get bored and move on.

    • That is amazingly impressive. I cannot begin to think where you have found the time to do something of that magnitude. It must have taken you ages. I have just had a check of my bootleg MP3 section and there are 720 different files. Even with duplications that is one hell of a lot of music.
      I have around 240 CDs. That doesn’t come close.

      • I whittled out all the clones and poor quality sounding discs as they were simply unplayed dust collectors. But it helps when you know exactly what is on each of them to be able to make such sacrificial decisions.
        There are still bits and pieces of studio stuff where the origins cannot be specifically allocated to date or location.
        The file is on-going as long as they release records. But I’ve knocked the boots on the head now as they are few and far between and almost never anything new, but re-hash of re-titles on yet another label.
        The files have been on-going for about 13 years, piece-meal, an hour here an hour there, one record title at a time.
        The pre-Experience Lonnie Youngblood and in particular the Curtis Knight sessions stuff were simply agonising to complete. Hundreds of albums of jumbled up and heavily cropped and/or doctored crap.

      • I can imagine that it is an immense task. Over the years every Tom, Dick and Harry have jumped on the bandwagon to try to make a buck out of regurgitating the same old stuff. Picking it all apart is a work of art. I can’t believe that you had the time and patience to even attempt such a huge job. To have it all in chronological progression must reveal a lot about his progress. The guy did such a lot and went on a huge journey in a short time. I often think about what he might be doing now if he had lived.

      • I’d meant to ask you, but are you saying you went out and bought 240 CDs without knowing what’s on them? Surely not? Or do you mean copies on CDR – even then you’d really have to know what you doing, without wasting your time, or at least by the 50th one, begin to realise that you had all this stuff already.
        Same really with mp3.

      • There’s a mixture of CDRs and CDs. A lot of box sets and assorted outtakes, studio and live sets. Bound to be a lot of duplication in there but I thought it was pretty comprehensive – obviously not. With the MP3s I collected anything I could – downloaded a lot. I can’t even have played it all.

I'd like to hear from you...

