Jack Kerouac Quotes – A man who saw an lternative way of living.

When I read On the Road and Dharma Bums when I was seventeen they altered my life. I saw something more worthwhile than the pursuit of money and power, I saw an alternative way of living that was more mad, vital and alive. It was the crazy excitement of Jazz, poetry and Zen – that was seeking kicks and enlightenment – that wanted something more than security and boredom. I knew there had to be more – be more spontaneity – be more excitement – be more meaning. I wanted to live – the colours to be vivid – to find out what life was about – and to have no limits!

41e79xd-x7l-_ac_us160_

I had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion.
Well that’s a beginning. To be confused about the stupidity of this society is a start. If you are confused by what you see around you then you can either ignore it and carry on or try to figure out a better way of doing things.
Great things are not accomplished by those who yield to trends and fads and popular opinion.
It is the pioneers with an alternative vision who are the real inventors – the crazy people who won’t listen to reason and follow the crowd.
My fault, my failure, is not in the passions I have, but in my lack of control of them.
Passions are the essence of life but they can be so destructive too.
Maybe that’s what life is… a wink of the eye and winking stars.
We are a flash in eternity. Our lives are over far too soon – I’m hardly getting started!
All human beings are also dream beings. Dreaming ties all mankind together.
We dream of better futures – more fun, more love, more freedom, more understanding and a better world.
I hope it is true that a man can die and yet not only live in others but give them life, and not only life, but that great consciousness of life.
I believe our lives send out ripples through the world around us. All the people around us are affected. They in turn affect everyone around them. We need a tsunami of compassion.
All of life is a foreign country.
Understanding it is crucial. We don’t even speak the same language. We journey through life getting our kicks and seeking truth.

I'd like to hear from you...

